STARDATE: 05 02 2024

My friend Luka (you can find her as Loomfus on most socials, she's a really amazing cartoonist!) and I went shopping last weekend. One of our first stops was the city's "MediaMarkt", which is a Dutch chain store for electronics & media. It's usually one of my favorite chain stores to go to, because I like browsing all the tech and especially the physical media section. However, when we went up to the physical media floor, we discovered that it was completely empty. Just some storage boxes left.. We asked an employee where we could find the cd's and he said there was a bin downstairs near the entrance, it was super hard to find and there was so little left!
It made me kind of sad.. I don't blame the store, they were probably not making enough profits from physical media now that everyone has moved to streaming. But I hate the idea that I don't OWN the 12 years worth of my Spotify library. As soon as I stop paying my subscription, or delete my account, it's all gone forever.

This is why, when we found a second hand cd stand at a market right outside, I bought my first ever cd. Of course I owned cd's as a kid, but none of those represent my current music taste. The cd is the album Naked by Talking Heads (been obsessed with them since I saw Stop Making Sense a few weeks ago!). We also went to a small music shop later on where the owner was playing Speaking in Tongues over the speakers, and I took it as a sign to buy that album and also Remain in Light as well. I'm excited to keep growing my collection!

STARDATE: 29 12 2023

It's the weird time limbo week between Christmas celebrations and new year's eve.. even though I had traveled home for the holidays, I've been back at my student room for the past two days, partly to spend time with one of my friends and watch the new Doctor Who episode together (it's so good!) and partly to have some alone time to recharge after Christmas.

I felt really weird last night while lying in bed. I kept thinking about how much my life has changed in just a year, and how I have no idea what my life will look like a year from now. Change is scary. It feels like I'm slowly getting sucked into a black hole, and I have no clue what is on the other side.

STARDATE: 22 08 2023

My best friend got me into using the Pikmin Bloom app and it's been helping a lot in finding motivation to walk more and explore my surroundings! This morning I got up early to be ahead of the hot summer day, and went on a very peaceful walk. I took a break at the nearby park to sit in the grass and read.

I've been slowly chipping away at The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin, I'm really enjoying it despite my slowness! Her writing style is just very detailed so it takes a lot of energy to read. With all the GoodReads reading goals and "I read 10 books in one week" YouTube videos around it can feel like a bad thing to spend so much time on a book. I need to remind myself that its worth isn't tied to how fast I'm able to get through it!

A photo of the book I was reading while at the park, The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin, and my foot wearing a yellow converse shoe next to it.